Ball on green rotated without first marking position, legal or not?
Larry's ball was on the green, about 8 feet from the hole. Larry bent down next to his ball and rotated the ball to line up the imprinted arrow that was on the ball with the hole. He did not lift the ball, mark its position or change its position. Scott called out foul. He said, “Larry, that's a one stroke penalty. I don't care if the ball didn't change position; you rotated the ball without first marking the ball." Of course, Larry protested and said he was entitled to rotate his ball on the green without first marking it as long as he did not move the ball's position.
What is the correct ruling?"
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Off the Fringe, “Golf’s best short read.” The award winning newsletter, sent twice monthly, that provides an unconventional perspective on the golf world.