Visible ball in hazard covered by leaves obstructing golfers ability to see ball, may leaves be moved?
"Scott's ball landed in a hazard (sand filled bunker). The top of the ball was covered by several leaves and not visible to Scott when he addressed the ball. He then said he was going to remove the leaves so he could see the ball. Larry said, ""Not so fast, From my angle I can see the ball. That means you can't move the leaves."" Scott said, ""Larry, your not trying to hit the ball, I am. I don't think your being able to see the ball is relevant, just as a a golfer who has a ball buried in sand is allowed to move enough sand to see the top of the ball, I too should be allowed to move the leaves so that I can see the top of the ball, after all, I am the one who has to hit it!""
What is the correct ruling?"
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Off the Fringe, “Golf’s best short read.” The award winning newsletter, sent twice monthly, that provides an unconventional perspective on the golf world.